Limbo

People fear hell because of the promised torment;

But I’d rather burn for an eternity

Than live trapped in the limbo of your indifference.

This barren landscape is the real hell:

My mind a cruel tormentor.

Images of you with her assault me

I see you loving her, holding her so gently—

A stark contrast to the way you held me.

No, with me you were ruthless

But I drank it in.

I took all of your sharp edges within me

and gave you back warmth and tenderness.

While the scars you made ran red.

I took the pain in too.

It was, after all, part of the gamble.

We were two broken things in the night

Coming together

A little haphazardly perhaps,

But still beautiful in our imperfection.

Or so I thought…

But, to you, I was just a mere lapse in judgement

While she is the Empress you sought.

That’s fair, that’s the game we all play.

The winner takes it all: the loser is discarded.

I made many mistakes that night

Letting you use my body was not one of them,

Letting you into my heart was the biggest one of all.

Now I pay penance for my sins.

Stuck in no man’s land

Forever yearning for a ghost.

~Ink Me In

Leave a comment